Food + Drink

Your Guide to the Four Types of Irish Whiskey

When it comes to Irish whiskey, if you’re not sure what to order, you  might be tempted to simply order a whiskey you’ve heard of, like Jameson.  However, there’s four different types of Irish whiskey and each has its own flavor. Let’s explore what defines each type.

What Is Irish Whiskey?

As the name might suggest, Irish whiskey must be made on the island of Ireland. But you can’t just throw a bunch of ingredients together, age it for a few days, and call it Irish whiskey just because you happen to live in Dublin.

To be called Irish whiskey, a spirit must: – Be distilled in the Republic of Ireland or in Northern Ireland from a mash of cereals. – Contain at least some portion of malted grain. – Be fermented by yeast. – Be distilled at an alcoholic strength of less than 94.8% ABV in wooden casks not larger than 700 liters for at least three years in the State or Northern Ireland. – Maintain the flavor of whiskey. – Be bottled at no less than 40% ABV. – Be free of additives other than water and caramel coloring.

Single Malt Irish Whiskey

Single malt Irish whiskey is made from 100% malted barley, comes from a single distillery, and is distilled in a pot still. It’s smooth and mellow.

2. Pot Still Irish Whiskey

Pot still Irish whiskey — also known as single pot still — contains a minimum of 30% malted barley and 30% unmalted barley and must be distilled in copper pot stills.

Swipe up to discover the other two types